Arizona gun laws operate at the state level and are very permissive, allowing any Eligible US Citizen who is at least 18 years old to open carry, and 21 years old or over to conceal carry a firearm without a permit. Arizona was the second state after Alaska to enact “Constitutional Carry” laws. Arizona still maintains a “Shall Issue” policy for reciprocity reasons. Permits are issued to residents and non-residents with one of the requirements being that a firearms safety course must be completed. At the moment, Arizona does not require live-fire qualification course to issue a permit and allows favorable non-resident reciprocity.
Arizona will honor all other states concealed carry permits. There is one exception with the Idaho permit as stated in the notes below. A person must be at least 21 years old to carry a concealed firearm in Arizona.
Arizona currently has signed reciprocity agreements with eight other states. These states are; Alaska, Arkansas, Idaho, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, West Virginia. A full list of reciprocity agreements can be viewed here as well.
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, , Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico
Resident & Non Resident
The requirement of being at least 18 years old to open carry does not apply in the following situations;
There is no requirement for background checks on private gun sales in Arizona. This includes handguns and long guns with the only requirement being that the purchaser is at least 18 years old under state law.
A person needs to be 21 years or over to purchase a handgun from a federally licensed dealer under federal law.
YES – Without a Permit/License
If you are 21 or older and legally allowed to own a firearm you can carry a fully loaded and concealed handgun in a vehicle.
If you are under the age of 21 the handgun must be in plain view to a person outside looking into the vehicle. Are you prepared to deal with a traffic stop while carrying a firearm? Click Here learn more about Concealed Carry Laws, Your Rights and Search And Seizure Laws.
You are legally entitled to open carry in Arizona with the minimum age being 18. Only persons that have a permit/license can carry in a place that serves alcohol for consumption on the premises. Just because you can does not mean you should. Click Here to learn the differences between Open and Concealed Carry and how to legally carry to minimize problems.
Nothing in Arizona gun laws state that you must inform Law Enforcement you have a firearm if stopped by them. The law does say that if an officer asks you if you have a firearm then you must give him an answer. Click here to Learn how to deal with law enforcement when carrying a firearm.
ARS 13.3102 – Misconduct with Weapons
ARS 13.3112 – Carrying Permit
Arizona is a permit-less carry or Constitutional Carry state. No permit is required to carry a concealed firearm if a person is 21 years of age or over. To open carry a person must be at least 18 years old. Arizona still maintains a “Shall Issue” policy for reciprocity purposes. There are many advantages to having an Arizona Concealed Carry Of Weapons Permit for Arizona Residents as well as Non-Residents. Click here to learn about Arizona’s CCW Permit Benefits and get certified for an AZ CCW Permit.
Only if you have a CCW permit, the permit can be from Arizona or any other state. Without a permit, it is illegal to conceal or open carry in any place that serves alcohol.
ARS 4.244 – Unlawful Acts
It is generally illegal to discharge a firearm within or into the limits of any municipality. However, this prohibition does not apply to persons discharging firearms in the following circumstances:
Arizona gun laws give “No Weapons” signs the force of law. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.
It is recommended that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.
4.229 – Posting Notices
Interference with or disruption of an educational institution; violation; classification; definitions
I. Not withstanding section 15-341 and subsection D of this section, the governing board of an educational institution may not adopt or enforce any policy or rule that prohibits the lawful possession or carrying of a deadly weapon on a public right-of-way by a person or on or within a person’s means of transportation.
J. Interference with or disruption of an educational institution pursuant to subsection A, paragraph 1 of this section is a class 6 felony. Interference with or disruption of an educational institution pursuant to subsection A, paragraph 2 or 3 of this section is a class 1 misdemeanor.
K. For the purposes of this section:
4. “School” means a public or nonpublic kindergarten program, common school or high school.
5. “School grounds” means in, or on the grounds of, a school.
Storage of Deadly Weapons; Definitions
A. If an operator of a public establishment or a sponsor of a public event requests that a person carrying a deadly weapon remove the weapon, the operator or sponsor shall provide temporary and secure storage. The storage shall be readily accessible on entry into the establishment or event and allow for the immediate retrieval of the weapon on exit from the establishment or event.
B. This section does not apply to the licensed premises of any public establishment or public event with a license issued pursuant to title 4.
C. The operator of the establishment or the sponsor of the event or the employee of the operator or sponsor or the agent of the sponsor, including a public entity or public employee, is not liable for acts or omissions pursuant to this section unless the operator, sponsor, employee or agent intended to cause injury or was grossly negligent.
D. For the purposes of this section, “public establishment” and “public event” have the same meanings prescribed in section 13-3102.
Misconduct Involving Weapons; Defenses; Classification; Definitions
2. “Public establishment” means a structure, vehicle or craft that is owned, leased or operated by this state or a political subdivision of this state.
3. “Public event” means a specifically named or sponsored event of limited duration that is either conducted by a public entity or conducted by a private entity with a permit or license granted by a public entity. Public event does not include an unsponsored gathering of people in a public place.
Justification; Defensive Display of a Firearm; Definition
A. The defensive display of a firearm by a person against another is justified when and to the extent a reasonable person would believe that physical force is immediately necessary to protect himself against the use or attempted use of unlawful physical force or deadly physical force.
B. This section does not apply to a person who:
C. This section does not require the defensive display of a firearm before the use of physical force or the threat of physical force by a person who is otherwise justified in the use or threatened use of physical force.
D. For the purposes of this section, “defensive display of a firearm” includes:
Q. This state and any political subdivision of this state shall recognize a concealed weapon, firearm or handgun permit or license that is issued by another state or a political subdivision of another state if both:
R. For the purpose of establishing mutual permit or license recognition with other states, the department of public safety shall enter into a written agreement if another state requires a written agreement.
S. Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, a person with a concealed weapons permit from another state may not carry a concealed weapon in this state if the person is under twenty-one years of age or is under indictment for, or has been convicted of, a felony offense in any jurisdiction, unless that conviction is expunged, set aside or vacated or the person’s rights have been restored and the person is currently not a prohibited possessor under state or federal law.
Arizona’s Gun Laws offers Permit Holders a variety of benefits. If you are an eligible US Citizen you can get your AZ CCW Permit and enjoy the benefits. If you have a concealed carry permit or license from another state you may be able to secure an Arizona Concealed Carry Of Weapons Permit without having to attend an in-person class in Arizona. Click here to learn how to get your AZ CCW Multi-State Concealed Carry Permit.
A. A person may carry a concealed handgun on the premises of a licensee who is an on-sale retailer unless the licensee posts a sign that clearly prohibits the possession of weapons on the licensed premises. The sign shall conform to the following requirements:
B. A person shall not carry a firearm on the licensed premises of an on-sale retailer if the licensee has posted the notice prescribed in subsection A of this section.
C. It is an affirmative defense to a violation of subsection B of this section if:
D. The department of liquor licenses and control shall prepare the signs required by this section and make them available at no cost to licensees.
Concealed Weapons; Qualification; Application; Permit to Carry; Civil Penalty; Report; Applicability
N. An applicant shall demonstrate competence with a firearm through any of the following:
Below are links for a variety of online / blended learning certification courses as well as hands-on NRA Courses for all levels. For individuals, couples, families and groups with zero to some experience with firearms there are several training options.
NOTE: Currently Arizona Does Not Require Live-Fire / On-Range Shooting Classes or Qualification To Issue CCW Permits. HOWEVER, It is highly recommended that you learn from and shoot with a qualified and professional NRA Certified Instructor on a regular basis to maintain your skills and knowledge.
Firearms Safety, Hands-On, Live Fire Shooting Courses
Arizona Concealed Carry Certification Classes / Blended Learning & Online
Private Firearms Consultations & Shooting Classes
Misconduct Involving Weapons; Defenses; Classification; Definitions
A. 1. Carrying a deadly weapon except a pocket knife concealed on his person or within his immediate control in or on a means of transportation:
(b) When contacted by a law enforcement officer and failing to accurately answer the officer if the officer asks whether the person is carrying a concealed deadly weapon; or…
N. For the Purposes of This Section:
1. “Contacted by a law enforcement officer” means a lawful traffic or criminal investigation, arrest or detention or an investigatory stop by a law enforcement officer that is based on reasonable suspicion that an offense has been or is about to be committed.
Click Here to learn about Interactions with Law Enforcements when carrying a firearm.
Concealed weapons; qualification; application; permit to carry; civil penalty; report; applicability
A. The department of public safety shall issue a permit to carry a concealed weapon to a person who is qualified under this section. The person shall carry the permit at all times when the person is in actual possession of the concealed weapon and is required by section 4-229 or 4-244 to carry the permit. If the person is in actual possession of the concealed weapon and is required by section 4-229 or 4-244 to carry the permit, the person shall present the permit for inspection to any law enforcement officer on request.
A. The possession of legal weapons, devices, ammunition or magazines, which are not authorized to take wildlife, is not prohibited while hunting if the weapon or device is not used to take wildlife.
B. Taking wildlife by using a weapon, device, ammunition or magazine that is not authorized to take wildlife is a class 1 misdemeanor.
Emergency Powers of Governor; Termination; Authorization for Adjutant General; Limitation
A. During a state of war emergency, the governor may:
1. Suspend the provisions of any statute prescribing the procedure for conduct of state business, or the orders or rules of any state agency, if the governor determines and declares that strict compliance with the provisions of any such statute, order or rule would in any way prevent, hinder or delay mitigation of the effects of the emergency.
B. During a state of war emergency, the governor shall have complete authority over all agencies of the state government and shall exercise all police power vested in this state by the constitution and laws of this state in order to effectuate the purposes of this chapter.
D. The governor may proclaim a state of emergency which shall take effect immediately in an area affected or likely to be affected if the governor finds that circumstances described in section 26-301, paragraph 15 exist.
E. During a state of emergency:
1. The governor shall have complete authority over all agencies of the state government and the right to exercise, within the area designated, all police power vested in the state by the constitution and laws of this state in order to effectuate the purposes of this chapter.
I. The powers exercised by the adjutant general pursuant to subsection H of this section expire seventy-two hours after the adjutant general makes a determination under subsection H of this section.
J. Pursuant to the second amendment of the United States Constitution and article II, section 26, Constitution of Arizona, and notwithstanding any other law, the emergency powers of the governor, the adjutant general or any other official or person shall not be construed to allow the imposition of additional restrictions on the lawful possession, transfer, sale, transportation, carrying, storage, display or use of firearms or ammunition or firearms or ammunition components.
K. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the governor, the adjutant general or other officials responding to an emergency from ordering the reasonable movement of stores of ammunition out of the way of dangerous conditions.
Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the Arizona Department of Public Safety-Concealed Weapons Permit Unit (AZ DPS CWPU) Applications are mailed to; Concealed Weapon Permit Unit PO Box 6488 Phoenix AZ 85005
AZ DPS does not provide certification courses. Concealed Carry Of Weapons Certification Classes are offered by firearms training companies and instructors that are certified by the National Rifle Association.
AZ DPS – CWPU Operates under Arizona Revised Statutes 13-3112 and Arizona Administrative Rules R13-9-101 through R1309-603
75 Days Once the application is received it will take about 75 days to complete all the necessary checks. Your AZ CCW Application Kit must be legible and include all documents in order to be processed and approved by the Arizona Department Of Public Safety (AZDPS) Fingerprints must be completed by a Certified Technician.
Yes. But there may be additional documents required and before signing the application you must Attest To an Affidavit that you are knowledgeable of A.R.S. Title 13 Chapter 4 and Chapter 13. and have completed a training course certified by and NRA Certified Instructor. There is an application form, two fingerprint cards, instructions and return envelope included in the packet. AZ CCW Certification Courses will provide you with the Certificate Of Completion, Application, Fingerprinting and Review all of your documentation prior to submitting to AZ DPS CWPU.
Additional Documentation will be required if you are active military, a veteran, a resident alien, were born outside of the US, or have previous legal situations. Click here for more information please click here for information about Arizona Concealed Carry Certification Course
No, refunds cannot be given if a permit application is denied.
No, refunds cannot be given if a permit application is dNo, there is no way to tell before your application and training course if you will be approved for a permit. If you meet all the requirements as listed then you should have no problem obtaining a CCW permit.enied.
No, we already have your fingerprints so no need to send them again.
The DPS does not have a fingerprint service. You will need to contact a private vendor or your local law enforcement. Fingerprints must be completed on a specific from and be performed by a Certified Technician. Click Here for information about AZ CCW Fingerprinting.
Laws are ever-changing. While not required by the state, Refresher Courses are now available online. Responsible firearms owners want to stay current and up-to-date with changes in the laws and it’s more convenient than ever. Click here for AZ CCW RENEWAL & REFRESHER COURSE
If you are moving to Arizona permits from other states cannot be transferred into an Arizona permit. However, a permit from another state may be enough proof that you have sufficient training to apply for an AZ CCW permit. You will still need to learn Arizona Laws and sign the affidavit attesting that you have learned Title 13 Chapters 4 and 13 and go through the application process.
If you are not a resident of Arizona but have a CCW Permit from another state click here to learn more Non-Resident AZ CCW Permits for Out Of State CCW Holders.
Yes, within 10 days of changing your address. Just fill out the address change form and mail it to us. Click here for the AZ CCW Change Of Address Form
AZ DPS will not issue a permit to people that have ONLY taken an online course. Blended Learning courses including online learning AND include in-person classroom or range time with and NRA Certified Instructor are accepted. Additionally, The National Rifle Association offers a Blended Learning Courses such as Basics of Pistol Shooting which is suitable for AZ CCW Certification and Permit issuance but also require an In-Person class with an NRA Certified Instructor with valid credentials. Arizona does not require a live-fire shooting qualification to issue an AZ CCW Permit. Click here to Get AZ CCW Certified
– be a resident of this state or a United States citizen;
– be twenty-one years of age or older or is at least nineteen years of age and provides evidence of current military service or proof of honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions from the United States Armed Forces, United States Armed Forces Reserve or a State National Guard.
– not be under indictment for a felony offense;
– not be convicted of a felony offense, unless the conviction has been expunged, set aside, vacated or pardoned, or the individuals right to possess firearms has been restored AND the individual must not be a prohibited possessor under state or federal law.
– not suffer from mental illness and been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution;
– not be unlawfully present in the United States;
– complete a firearms safety training program pursuant to A.R.S. 13-3112.N
Note: Persons who were born outside of the United States or one of its territories must send a copy of proof of citizenship or alien status. Any of the following documents are acceptable:
– Certificate of Naturalization
– Resident Alien Card
– Record of Birth Abroad to US citizens
– Record of Birth Abroad to Armed Forces Personnel
– US Passport
Applications with errors or containing incomplete information will be returned for correction.
Allow 75 days for the Department to process your application. If you have not received your permit or notification from the department regarding your application after 75 days please contact the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit.
Once you have received your permit, inspect it for errors. If you find an error, return the permit along with a completed copy of the CWPU “Error on Permit Form” available under printable forms on this website.
In accordance with A.R.S. 13-3112 All Eligible US Citizens including Non-Residents can apply for an Arizona Concealed Carry Of Weapons Permit after they have completed a training course and the applicant can attest in writing that they have reviewed and are knowledgeable about Arizona’s Laws. Specifically A.R.S. Title 13 Chapter 4 and Chapter 31. These chapters deal with Arizona’s Criminal Code, Firearms Laws and Legalities Of Use Of Force. Additionally an NRA Certified Instructor will need to issue a Certificate Of Completion during an in-person class or private meeting. AZ CCW Certification Classes are offered in a variety of ways. On-Line, In-Classrooms, On-Range and Live-Fire Shooting are all options depending on the students level of competence with a firearm. The Legal information to satisfy the AZDPS requirements is available online and in-classrooms and requires an NRA Certified Instructor Certificate Of Completion. Click here to learn more about AZ CCW Certification Classes
Copyright© 2021. AZCCWPERMITS.COM, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. POWERED BY AND PART OF THE MACHINEGUNMARKETING.COM NETWORK.